Emptying the Recycle Bin
|Home / Computing||Print Recommend us|
Recycle bin in Windows Vista
In a Windows PC (personal computer), the Recycle Bin (the trash icon) holds your recently deleted files. Just like a trash bin in your kitchen, the Recycle Bin holds your unwanted stuff (computer files). When the trash bin is full, it is emptied to hold new unwanted stuff. This also applies to Recycle Bin. If you through something in the trash bin by mistake, you want to take out for further use. This is also true with the Recycle Bin.
When you delete files from your PC, the files are moved to the Recycle Bin, assuming the Recycle Bin has enough capacity to hold what you are deleting. If the Recycle Bin does not have the storage space to hold what you are deleting, your computer will alert you that the files will be deleted immediately and permanently (thus won’t be held in the Recycle Bin). Emptying the Recycle Bin can help increase its storage space. Alternatively, you can also increase the storage capacity of the Recycle Bin.
Recycle bin in Windows XP
To emptying the Recycle Bin (this means permanently deleting files from your computer), follow these steps (for Windows XP):
- Click on the Recycle Bin. This will open Recycle Bin window.
- To delete a selection of files, select the files you want to remove from the Recycle Bin window. Click on File on the top Menu Bar. Next click delete. This will delete selected files. Alternatively, after you have selected the files to delete, hit the delete key on your keyboard. Confirm the deletion from the message box to delete the file.
- Click on the Empty the Recycle Bin button on left to permanently delete all files.
See the graphics in the figure 1 to visualize the steps and for more information.
Even though you are permanently deleting files when you empty the Recycle Bin, the files can still be recovered. This, however, requires that you or someone else interested in recovering the information on the hard-drive of a computer go to data recovery specialists. These computer professionals have the tools and the skills to recover deleted files (and any other content on a hard-drive). So don’t assume if a file has been deleted from the Recycle Bin cannot be later recovered.
Because files from the Recycle Bin can be undeleted (or stored back to the PC location where they were deleted from), it may be a good idea to periodically empty the Recycle Bin. If others have access to your computer, one of the important places they don’t want to miss seeing is the content inside the Recycle Bin. They know files can easily be restored with a few clicks yet you thought the files were deleted (the files just moved to Recycle Bin). It takes another step to permanently delete files and that is emptying the Recycle Bin.
Laugh a little with these jokes
1. An old woman from a village in India sits in a bus and complaints to the driver: why is this seat so hot? The driver says because that is the engine of the bus, not a seat.
2. How can you tell if a mailman has sent the fax? See if the faxed document has any stamps!
3. Wife: I am leaving for work.
Husband: have a great time...
Wife: you cannot tell me what to do.
Rate this post
As part of ongoing efforts to improve this blog, please consider rating this page. Please tell us and other readers about the overall usefulness of this page to you. Please note multiple rating attempts for the same page are not permitted. Only one rating is allowed per visitor per page.
Also worth exploring on GiantPile
Random computing tips
1. Avoid eating or drinking near computers because if you accidentally spill on your machine or keyboard, you know what will happen.
2. When writing a message in from popular email providers such as Yahoo! Mail, GMail, or Hotmail, consider writing your message outside of the browser window (in Microsoft Word or Notepad). When you are ready to send the message, simply copy and paste into your email message box. After you hit Send and if you loose internet connection or your browser appears to be unresponsive to your request, chances are you won't loose your message because you have it in an external window. To avoid losing the message, another alternative is to use the Save function inside the email window if your email provider provides this option.